LOSING MY EDGE, TOO | redux: the sequel

A sequel to LCD Soundsystem’s classic meltdown

Yeah,
I’m losing my edge.

I’m losing my edge.

The kids are just sort of sitting there.

I’m losing my edge.

I’m losing my edge to the kids moving to Portland
And to Highland Park.

But I was there:

I was there in two-thousand and nine.
I was there the time Bon Iver played Hollywood Forever at dawn.
They came on after five hours of Planet Earth.

I’m losing my edge.

I’m losing my edge
To the kids whose body odor I smell when they get onstage.
I’m losing my edge
To the childless thirty-somethings who’ve convinced themselves they dislike comfortable lodging and decent food.

I’m losing my edge-uh.

To all the kids in Bedford-Stuyvesant and Oakland.
I’m losing my edge to the drop-out Seattleites in torn, mustard-stained sweaters and borrowed nostalgia for the unremembered nineties.

But I’m losing my edge.

I’m losing my edge, but I was there.

I was there.

But I was sometimes there.

I’m losing my edge.

I’m losing my edge.

I can smell the body odor
Every night onstage.

But I was there:
I was there in two-thousand and ten when Dirty Projectors did Disney Hall with the LA Phil.
It would have cost more than my car to get decent seats
But it sounded great regardless.
I was there this May, twenty-fourteen, when Iceage played Los Globos with all those other Danes no one cares about, after the fire marshal shut down The Church.
I honestly found it all kind of exhausting
And tried to take a nap.

I was there.

I was the third, or fourth, or twelfth guy playing Death Grips to my college friends.
I played it on KOXY, to three listeners.
Nobody really cared.

We all know.

I was there!

I was there a couple times.

I’m often wrong.

I’ve never worked in a record store, because as much as I love them, they can’t pay shit, and I like nice things.
I had everything around the same time everyone else did, maybe later.
I was there on the Internet when Radiohead dropped In Rainbows, just like you.
I was there on Pitchfork several times a day because as much as they’re annoying, they’re good at music news, and I appreciate that.

I woke up terrified in an Urban Outfitters with limited edition Lana in my hands, just a couple months back.

But I’m losing my edge to worse-looking people
With fewer ideas and less talent.
And they’re actually not – not especially nice.

I’m losing my edge.
But it’s okay, I’m fine with it.

I heard you have a constantly-refreshing torrent of every good song ever done by anybody this decade.
Every great song by Sky Ferreira. All the underground hits from her prepubescent years. All the Parkay Quarts tracks.
I heard you have seven-inches of everything Burger Records ever put out, and you don’t ever stop spinning them, lest we forget.
I heard that you have oh-nine reissued copies of every seminal nineties pigfuck hit – nineteen ninety-one, ninety-two, ninety-three.
I heard that you have a cassette compilation of every good June twenty-thirteen cut and another box set of tapes from the back third of last week.

I hear you’re buying a case of Viceroys and some newly-Russian Rainier tallboys and are throwing your furniture out the window because you want to make something real

You want to make a Mac DeMarco record.

I hear that you and your band
Moved into a one-room squat
Because you heard it improves your Art.

I hear
That you and your band
Smoke designer weed on the stoop of your new squat
Having bored discussions about authenticity in the Internet age.

I hear
That you and your band
Only drink shit beer so you can afford Mexican Jazzmasters and custom amps.
I hear that you and your band bought Jazzmasters and custom amps
So you can only afford shit beer.

I hear everybody that you know is more
Poorly groomed
Than everybody that I know.

But have you seen my iPod?

Interpol Pavement Jimi Hendrix Animal Collective Oasis Local Natives The Black Keys

The Ramones Daft Punk blink-182 Belle & Sebastian Radiohead Kanye West uhhh, Pavement Iron & Wine FIDLAR Sonic Youth The National M.I.A. Lou Reed St. Vincent LCD Soundsystem Bob Dylan Pixies

Beyoncé The Shins Ty Segall Cat Power Death Cab For Cutie Wolf Parade Moby Bright Eyes New Order Spoon Weezer Neutral Milk Hotel Phoenix The Beatles

GARDEN!
STATE!
SOUNDTRACK!

James Blake Nirvana Arcade Fire Iggy & The Stooges

Odd Future

Third Eye Blind

The Strokes

The Strokes

The Strokes

The Strokes.

You don’t know what you really want.
You don’t know what you really want.
You don’t know what you really want.
You don’t know what you really want.
You don’t know what you really want.
You don’t know what you really want.
You don’t know what you really want.
You don’t know what you really want.
You don’t know what you really want.
You don’t know what you really want.
You don’t know what you really want.
You don’t know what you really want.
You don’t know what you really want.
You don’t know what you really want.
You don’t know what you really want.

